Green Deed of the Day III

Perhaps I should pose my questions in blog form more often! I got such a good response to “Hard to Find Alternatives” with many great suggestions that I think I have the answer to at least my toothbrush conundrum. I still have to investigate the razors further.

Here is today’s green deed items from a wee shopping expedition

My new wooden brush has a changeable brush head with natural bristles and can be completely disassembled for recycling. My last ever red plastic brush will still be used until it is worn out completely.

This Environmental Toothbrush is made of bamboo and a polymer. The ETB website says "The Environmental Toothbrush can be disposed of safely by returning it to earth in compost or landfill. Both the bamboo and bristles will biodegrade into soil, without pollution."

Probably the item with the highest embodied energy, but looked after, it could last a lifetime and still be recycled.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think I now also know what to do about rubber gloves for doing dishes. I was standing in the supermarket in front of the gloves and noticed that the Chux latex disposables had an allergy warning on the packet. It got me thinking, as I know that some people are allergic to natural latex. So I called the customer service number on the back and spoke to a nice woman. At first she thought my questions a bit odd but she offered to find the answers and call me back. So an hour later on the phone again she confirmed that Chux latex gloves are made of 100% natural latex and do not include any synthetic latex (lots of products advertise as being 100% latex, but that doesn’t mean any of it is natural or bio-degradable). She also confirmed that their gloves are 100% bio-degradable. So I think (please correct me if I’m wrong), that even though the latex gloves have a much shorter life than the plastic ones, they are probably a better choice environmentally.

Here is something about latex’s biodegradability from the Balloon Council website: http://www.balloonhq.com/BalloonCouncil/faq.html#latex

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

